More Information


Summary of The Old Testament

Summary of The New Testament

Key Points of the Old Testament

Key Points of the New Testament

Bible Timeframe

Biblenotes PDF

Answered Questions

Leave A Comment


God gave Moses specific instruction for sacrificing ox, sheep, goat, birds, or grain to God. Rules for "burnt" offerings were given. God instructed Moses and Aaron to tell the people what food to eat -- any animal with a split hoof (or cloven hoof) which chews the cud (Leviticus 11:2-3). This meant that camels, rabbits, and pigs were not to be eaten. Also, it was all right to eat any that have "fins and scales" (Leviticus 11:9) but no other water creatures. Some birds (eagles, "kites," ravens, hawks, owls, gulls, vultures, storks, bats) were also forbidden to eat, along with four-legged flying insects. The laws that God wished for the Hebrews were told to Moses. Homosexuality was forbidden (Leviticus 18:22). Holy feasts (i.e., festivals) were given for observing (Leviticus 23). The "Year of Jubilee" was explained as every fiftieth year (Leviticus 25:10), where all debts were forgiven and all land passed back to the original owners or their heirs. God constantly promises to remember the promises to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob (Leviticus 26: 42) and is often referred to as the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob. Leviticus basically outlines the things that the Lord gave to Moses on Mount Sinai.


Forward/Sources | Notices of Copyright | ©2014 Biblenotes